This is the "Home" page of the "Mythology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide is for Mr. Chicoskie, Mr. McGraw, Mrs. Imorde, and Mrs. Nixon. It is a research project on Greco-Roman gods, goddesses, and monsters.
Last Updated: Sep 20, 2011 URL: http://collierville.sgis.libguides.com/content.php?pid=250056 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Greece and Civilization
  • Rome and Civilization
  • Gods
  • Goddesses
  • Classical Mythology
  • Greek Mythology
  • Roman Mythology
 

Online Databases

Facts on File Ancient and Medieval History Online -  Simply click Ancient Rome: 800 BCE to 500 BCE to access information on ancient Roman agriculture, family life, industry, law, literature, religion, and trade.  Biographies on prominent historical people, like Boudicca and Julius Caesar are also included.   You may gain access to this resource by clicking the link supplies on the "Databases" page of the library's website.

World Folklore and Folklife- If you need to study the music, myths, languages, art, legends, and food of yesterday's and today's cultures, this is the best database with which to start.


History Reference Center-This is a new EBSCO database to the SGIS collection. Try limiting your search to full-text reference book articles for a manageable set of results.

 

Internet

Encyclopedia Mythica This incredibly useful website offers information on myths and folklore including Greek, Celtic, Norse, and Roman mythology along with Arthurian legends. It proves to be a useful website when working on Latin and Etymology projects

 

Getting Started

If you haven't read some basic facts on your subject matter, then please take a moment and read at least one reputable general encyclopedia article (NOT Wikipedia!) from an evaluated encyclopedia, like Encyclopedia Britannica or World Book Online.  

 

Books at the McClain Library





Mythology - Edith Hamilton
Call Number: 292 H2178m

The Greek Myths - Robert Graves
Call Number: 292.13 G7677g









Greek and Roman mythology, A to Z - Kathleen Daly
Call Number: REF 292.1303 D1534g 2009


Greek and Roman mythology - Don Nardo
Call Number: REF 292 G7935n


Library Assistant - The McClain Library

Profile Image
Emmy McClain
Contact Info
1880 Wolf River Blvd.
Collierville, TN 38017
901-457-2030
Send Email
Subjects:
Education
 

Citations

Knight Cite - This is a great citation machine. One can format citations for books, database articles, and webpages. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip