This is the "Home" page of the "Create Your Own Country" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Create Your Own Country   Tags: charnes, constitution, create a country, government, sgis, st. george's  

Mrs. Charnes' American Government
Last Updated: Aug 26, 2014 URL: http://collierville.sgis.libguides.com/content.php?pid=248213 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Constitution-Basic Tenents of

Click here to learn about the basic tenents of a constitution. This link is an article from the general encyclopedia Britannica, and it provides a historical analysis of the concept, as well as information on the basic parts of a constition (representation, accountability, division of power, and governmental disclosure).


Also, Oxford Reference provides access to The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics, which also has a nice breakdown of what should be included in a country's constitution.

 

TEL's World Book has another good article on the basics of what comprises a constitution.

 

Keywords

Type these in to the online catalog and databases to find more information:

Dictatorship--History

Democracy

Monarchy--History

Theocracy

Nationalism

Political science


 

e-Books

Robert Carlisle, ed. Encyclopedia of Politics. Gale e-Book

K. Lee Lerner, Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, and Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner, eds. Government, Politics, and Protest: Essential Primary Sources. Gale e-Book

 

Print Resources

Because we do not have multiple copies of these titles, please use them in library and photocopy any information you might need.  Be sure to photocopy the title page of the book, as well as its verso, so that you will have all the elements you need to format your MLA citations.

Thomas Paine's Rights of Man 320.5 P147r 1985

Jean-Jacques Rousseau's The Social Contract 320.01 R8645s

Niccolo Machiavelli's The Prince 320.01 M149p

Social Contract: Essays by Locke, Hume and Rousseau 320.01 S67817b

Hannah Arendt's Totalitarianism: Part Three of the Origins of Totalitarianism 321.6 A68102t 1968

Ron Fridell's Dictatorship 321.9 F898d

Tom Lansford's Democracy 321.8 L2637d

Rebecca Stefoff Monarchy 321.6 S8174m

Lila Perl's Theocracy 321.5 P4513t

Walter Laqueur's Fascism: Past, Present, Future 320.53309 L317t

Anthony D. Smith's Nationalism 320.54 S6428n

Ernest Gellner's Nations and Nationalism 320.54 G319n

Thomas Fleming's Socialism 320.531 F5987s

How Governments Work: the Inside Guide to Politics of the World 340 H8471H

 

Government Documents

Need ideas for what kinds of government documents you may choose to include in your country's government? Try looking at these sites to get an idea of constitutes a government document:

 

GPO-The U.S. government's printing office.

National Archives and Records Center

University of Memphis' Government Publications office

 

SGC Databases

ABC-CLIO's multi-database search allows the user to search American Government, World at War, and Daily Life Through History.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip