This is the "Home" page of the "Ms. Douglass - Holidays" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ms. Douglass - Holidays  

Research guide for Ms. Douglass' class to find fun information about holidays.
Last Updated: Aug 18, 2015 URL: http://collierville.sgis.libguides.com/Douglasholidays Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Let's Celebrate

Follow this itinerary to help you gather information for about your holiday.

Tour Stop 1: Online Encyclopedias

Use the following general encyclopedias to start your research.  You may wish to search for the name of the holiday or search by the country in which it is celebrated.

 

Tour Stop 2: Book Resources

Consult books from the library collection on reserve in your classroom with information about world holidays.  Books on the culture of specific countries are also available and will include information about their holidays.

Cover Art
JR Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Holidays - Robert H. Griffin; Ann H. Shurgin
Call Number: 394.2603 J956
ISBN: 0787639273
Publication Date: 2000
Entries searchable by either country and holiday.

Cover Art
Holidays of the World Cookbook for Students - Lois Sinaiko Webb
Call Number: 641.568 W366H
ISBN: 0897748840
Publication Date: 1995
Recipes for various international holidays.

Cover Art
Celebrations Around the World - Carole S. Angell
Call Number: 394.26 A583C
ISBN: 1555919456
Publication Date: 1996
Holidays organized by date.

Cover Art
The Folklore of World Holidays - Robert Griffin; Ann H. Shurgin
Call Number: REF 394.26 F6668G
ISBN: 0810389010
Publication Date: 1998

Cover Art
Holidays, Festivals and Celebrating of the World Dictionary - Sue Ellen Thompson (Editor)
Call Number: REF 394.26 H7327
ISBN: 0780800745
Publication Date: 1997

Tour Stop 3: Library Databases

Use these library databases to find additional information about your holiday.

Tour Stop 4: General Internet Websites

Now check out these Internet websites for interesting facts about holidays in different countries.

Tour Stop 5: Find Images

Finally you are ready to start building your presentation.  This link is a great place to look for images that are approved for you to use!

SGIS Middle School Librarian

Profile Image
Hillery Efkeman
Contact Info
1440 Wolf River Blvd
Collierville, TN 38017
Phone: (901) 457-2030
Send Email
 

Last Details

Don't forget to cite your sources, including your pictures! 

 

Citation Tools

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip